South Wales Cricket Association
Established 1926

National Flag of Wales 

Chair's Message


Neil Hobbs, ChairmanAnother year and has come to an end, so in my reflection on the last 12 months, I think I should start with the hot topic of the 2022 season namely Readers Pink cricket balls, I had more complaints from clubs, players & umpires regarding the difference between the Red and Pink Sovereign, in the past 12 years we would get a handful of complaints a season regarding the red ones. Some background it was decided for the 2022 season as most teams would be using coloured clothing, there was a need to change the cricket balls used from red, it was decided Division 1 would use Dukes orange balls and all other Divisions use either the Readers pink Sovereign or League Specials, Order was placed as usual early in the new year with delivery expected in early April ready for the distribution meeting, Only half the order arrived, the rest due in mid-May, they did not arrive until end of June, which I had to deliver to the clubs still waiting, As said previously clubs, players & umpires wrote to complain about the quality of the Readers balls, going out of shape, going soft and the pink dye coming off, I collected samples and sent 12 balls back to Readers, who then came back to say there had been a problem in the manufacture process,  we also trialled another make of cricket ball, used then in the cup finals day, one had to be replace after 13 overs as the seam started coming loose. The management committee decided at the end of the season that for 2023 we would be using Dukes Orange Cricket Balls, Division 1 would use the county international, as used in the premier league, Divisions 2-3 use the orange special crown match and Divisions 4 and below the orange special crown. If clubs have any red or pink balls left, please use those up before the new ones (2 the same colour per match) please.

So moving on the weather in April was the driest for several years so when the season started pitches were in great condition for May and June, the second half of the season returned to normal with some games being abandoned or reduced overs.


At the conclusion of the season, both Llanelli & Ynysygerwn returned to play in the SWCA for 2023. Division 1 Champions Dafen were promoted to Premier League 2. the Division 2 Champions were Merthyr, with Briton Ferry Steel promoted, the Division 3 Champions were Llanwrda, with Felinfoel promoted, the Division 4 Champions were Maesteg with Aberdare as Runners Up, the Division 5 Champions were Dunvant with Morriston as Runners Up, the Division 6 Champions were Pontarddulais Maroons with Bryn as Runners Up, Division 7 Champions were Wildboar Centurions  

With Briton Ferry Town promoted, Division 8 newcomers Swansea Warriors were Champions with Tata Steel Cavaliers also promoted, So far for the forthcoming season we have 88 team to play in 9 Divisions.                                                                                      Great Western Cricket Club decided at the end of the season they might be better playing in the South East Cricket League, we wish them well for the future.

 I would like to thank Clydach for hosting the T 20 Finals Day, the first match saw Felinfoel beat Pontardawe to win the Intermediate Cup, to be followed by Ammanford beating Neath to win the “Bernard Hastie Trophy”. congratulations also to Skewen who finished as highest placed SWCA club, they go forward to the national T20 vitality competition.

At the Annual Dinner the Fair Play award for Division 1 went to Llandysul (3rd Time) & Division 2 went to Briton Ferry Steel.

Individual awards were also presented to the best batter, bowled & keeper in each Division.

I would like to congratulate those players from the SWCA who were selected  to represent Wales at the Over 60’s world cup in Australia, also those Over 50’s who are off to their world cup in March to be played in South Africa.


As I always do I would like to thank some people, firstly Steve Jones our Secretary for keeping the SWCA running on a day to day basis, Allan Winkley our Treasurer who looks after our  finances, Richard Lewis our Umpires Administrator who tries to do his best with the numbers available, the Safeguarding team of Ben Roberts and Angharad Rees and the rest of the management committee, Our main sponsor Peter Lynn & Partners for their continued support and finally Scott Wilks our former Assistant Secretary for all he has done, having changed jobs and getting frustrated with certain clubs he decided to stand down, I wish him well for the future, Ceri Richards has put his name forward as a replacement.

Can I remind clubs our Presentation Dinner this year is on Friday 6th October.


  I want wish everybody good luck for the 2023 season.



                                                                     Neil Hobbs

                                                                    (Hon Chair)



[Home] [Top of Page]